Stage 2 of Tour des Alpes Maritimes et du Var goes to Mattias Skjelmose with a selective sprint win

Mattias Skjelmose Jensen won the stage 2 of Tour des Alpes Maritimes et du Var. The Trek-Segafredo team rider won ahead of Neilson Powless of EF Education-EasyPost team and Kevin Vauquelin of Arkéa-Samsic team who completed the podium

Mathieu Burgaudeau (Total Energies), Marco Brenner, Lorenzo Milesi (Team DSM) and Adne Holter (Team Uno-X) formed today's stage breakaway being caught around 6 km to the finish. EF Education-EasyPost setted the pace on the Cabris climb for his leader Neilson Powless but didn't divide much the peloton.

After the Sophia Antipholis hill around 8 km the race got really open with no team controlling the peloton and some attacks happened with hopes of creating a late breakaway attempt. All ended with a selective group sprint finish with Mattias Skjelmose being the fastest.

The Trek-Segafredo rider got his second professional victory ahead of Neilson Powless who repeated his second place and Kevin Vauquelin who won yesterday and remains as the race leader.

Results powered by

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments