Tour de France

Date: 1 - 23 July 2023

Category: 2.UWT

First Edition: 1903

The Tour de France is perhaps cycling's most prestigious event. Over the course of 21 days in the summer, the French stage-race is incredibly popular and a cornerstone of cycling history, having taken place for the first time in 1903 as advertising for the L'Auto newspaper, which had a yellow colour to it, which is the reason why until today the leader of the race wears a yellow jersey.

It is a race where in order to battle for the overall classification one needs to be a very complete rider, with the multiple tests in the Pyrenees and Alps mainly making for climbing tests. Whilst at the same time regularly featuring individual time-trials, windy stages and treacherous days with cobbled sectors or sharp hills present. 

Besides the overall classifications, many put major focus on grabbing stage wins at the race, it is the road event with the most coverage throughout the year which always drags in many of the world's best riders on every specialty into the race as the teams look for results.

Tour de France final podiums:

2022 - Jonas Vingegaard - Tadej Pogacar - Geraint Thomas

2021 - Tadej Pogacar - Jonas Vingegaard - Richard Carapaz

2020 - Tadej Pogacar - Primoz Roglic - Richie Porte

2019 - Egan Bernal - Geraint Thomas - Steven Kruijswijk

2018 - Geraint Thomas - Tom Dumoulin - Chris Froome

2017 - Chris Froome - Rigoberto Urán - Romain Bardet

2016 - Chris Froome - Romain Bardet - Nairo Quintana

2015 - Chris Froome - Nairo Quintana - Alejandro Valverde

2014 - Vincenzo Nibali - Jean-Christophe Peraud - Thibaut Pinot

2013 - Chris Froome - Nairo Quintana - Joaquim Rodríguez

2012 - Bradley Wiggins - Chris Froome - Vincenzo Nibali

Tour de France News

Read all the latest news about Tour de France