Volta a Catalunya

Date: 20-26 March 2023

Category: 2.UWT

First Edition: 1911

1911 saw the first edition of the Volta a Catalunya. Nowadays, the region is home to many professional riders, in Girona specifically; Andorra too which borders with the region. It makes for a very popular race within the pro peloton as many look to race on home roads and seize the good weather, in a race that sees usually many mountainous and hilly stages.

It is one of the oldest stage-races in the calendar and usually has a set of stages through the region, bringing in many stage-racers and riders eyeing the Ardennes classics whilst the classics riders and sprinters are over in Belgium for the classics campaign.

Volta a Catalunya final podiums:

2023 - Primoz Roglic - Remco Evenepoel - João Almeida

2022 - Sergio Higuita - Richard Carapaz - João Almeida

2021 - Adam Yates - Richie Porte - Geraint Thomas

2020 - Cancelled

2019 - Miguel Ángel López - Adam Yates - Egan Bernal

2018 - Alejandro Valverde - Nairo Quintana - Pierre Latour

2017 - Alejandro Valverde - Alberto Contador - Marc Soler

2016 - Nairo Quintana - Alberto Contador - Dan Martin

2015 - Richie Porte - Alejandro Valverde - Domenico Pozzovivo

2014 - Joaquim Rodríguez - Alberto Contador - Tejay van Garderen

2013 - Dan Martin - Joaquim Rodríguez - Michele Scarponi

2012 - Michael Albasini - Samuel Sánchez - Jurgen van den Broeck

Volta a Catalunya News

Read all the latest news about Volta a Catalunya