Vuelta a Espana

Date: 26 August - 17 September 2023

Category: 2.UWT

First Edition: 1935

The Vuelta a España is the third and most recent Grand Tour in the road cycling season. Having had it's first edition in 1935, it was a late addition but having came from a country where the cycling tradition has always been very big and having grown the format of 21 days, it became the third Grand Tour together with the Tour de France and the Giro d'Italia.

Taking place during late summer it is frequently a race affected by the heat, as the peloton frequently finds itself on the hot plains of central Spain. With several mountain ranges, cultures and different kinds of landscape throughout the Iberian country, the Vuelta a España not only brings in a very exciting race in cycling but also an interesting event.

Vuelta a España final podiums:

2022 - Remco Evenepoel - Enric Mas - Juan Ayuso

2021 - Primoz Roglic - Enric Mas - Jack Haig

2020 - Primoz Roglic - Richard Carapaz - Hugh Carthy

2019 - Primoz Roglic - Alejandro Valverde - Tadej Pogacar

2018 - Simon Yates - Enric Mas - Miguel Ángel López

2017 - Chris Froome - Vinzenzo Nibali - Ilnur Zakarin

2016 - Nairo Quintana - Chris Froome - Esteban Chaves

2015 - Fabio Aru - Joaquim Rodríguez - Rafal Majka

2014 - Alberto Contador - Chris Froome - Alejandro Valverde

2013 - Chris Horner - Vincenzo Nibali - Alejandro Valverde

2012 - Alberto Contador - Alejandro Valverde - Joaquim Rodríguez

Vuelta a Espana News

Read all the latest news about Vuelta a Espana