Date: 18 March 2023

Category: 1.UWT

First Edition: 1907

La Classicissima, or as it's most commonly known, Milano-Sanremo, is the longest race in the road cycling professional calendar. Taking place in Italy, every year it takes the peloton through a journey of around 300 kilometers which has became in recent cycling the longest race in the peloton, where endurance is frequently a big  decisive factor.

It is a race which is very open. Although it's nicknamed the "sprinters' monument", it is a classic that allows the puncheurs, climbers, rouleurs and classics experts all to perform and take a win aswell. It is characterized by the late climbs into the old towns of Cipressa and Poggio di Sanremo, before a grand finale in the Ligurian city of Sanremo.

Milano-Sanremo final podiums:

2023 - Mathieu van der Poel - Filippo Ganna - Wout van Aert

2022 - Matej Mohoric - Anthony Turgis - Mathieu van der Poel

2021 - Jasper Stuyven - Caleb Ewan - Wout van Aert

2020 - Wout van Aert - Julian Alaphilippe - Michael Matthews

2019 - Julian Alaphilippe - Oliver Naesen - Michal Kwiatkowski

2018 - Vincenzo Nibali - Caleb Ewan - Arnaud Démare

2017 - Michal Kwiatkowski - Peter Sagan - Julian Alaphilippe

2016 - Arnaud Démare - Ben Swift - Jurgen Roelandts

2015 - John Degenkolb - Alexander Kristoff - Michael Matthews

2014 - Alexander Kristoff - Fabian Cancellara - Ben Swift

2013 - Gerald Ciolek - Peter Sagan - Fabian Cancellara

2012 - Simon Gerrans - Fabian Cancellara - Vincenzo Nibali 

Milano-Sanremo News

Read all the latest news about Milano-Sanremo