Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team look to continue successful 2024 through Sam Bennett at Criterium du Dauphine

Arguably the most impressive team in 2024 so far has been the Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team. With 23 wins to their name already, they'll hope to add to that number at the Criterium du Dauphine, with sprint star Sam Bennett leading the charge.

“The Critérium du Dauphiné has a strong resonance for the team, whose racing department is based in Savoie, there is a very strong regional identity," previews Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team's coach, Julien Jurdie in an official press release to the team's website ahead of the race. "We also have many fans in the region, so it's always a great pleasure to be present on the roads of this race, one of the big events of the season before the Tour de France. The objective is to become more automatic in preparation for the Grande Boucle, both for the sprint compared to Sam Bennett and for our climbers. We will aim for stage victory."

Bennett won't be the only hope for the team to win stages though. Holding hopes of success through breakaways alongside his support of the Irishman will be the experienced Belgian, Oliver Naesen. “After the success at the 4 Jours du Dunkerque, I can't wait to do sprints again with Sam. The Critérium du Dauphiné is a race that I like, even if I don't have the profile of a climber. I like to feel that I am progressing day by day, I appreciate the courses that are magnificent and demanding at the same time," he says to the team's website. "It's a race that is successful for the team, it's motivating. I will have a dual role this year: last pilot fish for Sam and road captain to guide the other riders. I particularly like this role when I am a team member."

With Edvald Boasson Hagen, Bruno Armirail, Clement Berthet, Dorian Godon and Nicolas Prodhomme completing the lineup, came an eye out for the Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team jerseys throughout the traditional Tour de France prelude.

Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team for 2024 Criterium du Dauphine:

Sam Bennett
Bruno Armirail
Clement Berthet
Dorian Godon
Oliver Naesen
Edvald Boasson Hagen
Nicolas Prodhomme

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments