Pfeiffer Georgi claims solo victory at Classic Brugge-De Panne WE

Pfeiffer Georgi of Team DSM emerged as the winner of the Classic Brugge-De Panne WE by launching an attack six kilometres before the finish line and successfully defending her lead until the end, while Elisa Balsamo secured second place and Lorena Wiebes came in third.

The riders were impacted by rain at the commencement of the race, leading to a slower pace. Additionally, there was no initial breakaway, and a large crash occurred in the peloton at the 117-kilometre mark, causing a brief race neutralisation.

Following a brief pause, the competition resumed, and numerous participants dropped out. The peloton rode together, and no one made any efforts to break away. Elisa Balsamo encountered a mechanical problem and needed to switch bikes, but she did not fall behind in the race.

A small gap was formed by a group of 10 riders, which included Balsamo and Wiebes, with 50 kilometres left, and over the next 30 kilometres, this margin grew to more than 2 minutes. Pfeiffer Georgi was the first to attack with just 6 kilometres left. She gained 12 seconds lead.

The lead quickly grew to over 25 seconds, putting pressure on Balsamo and Wiebes, but there was no counterattack. She was able to defend her lead and crossed the finish line first to celebrate the victory. Elisa Balsamo finished second and Lorena Wiebes completed the podium.

Results powered by

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments