Medical Report and withdrawals Criterium du Dauphine 2024 - Final Update: Only 94 riders end brutal race

Throughout the 2024 Criterium du Dauphiné, there will be many riders to withdraw from the race, for several different reasons. We make a list of all riders who leave the race, as well as list out a few of the main crashes that take place during the race.

Stage 1 

Two riders abandoned during the stage. Q36.5's James Whelan crashed and suffered a knee injury; whilst Team DSM-Fimrenich PostNL's Alex Edmonson was also a DNF on the day. The likes of Kobe Goossens, Toms Skujins, Luca Vergallito and Kenny Elissonde also crashed during the stage.

Stage 2

Nothing to note.

Stage 3

Three riders did not make it to the end of the third stage. Antonio Tiberi didn't begin the third stage, citing fatigue after racing and completing the Giro d'Italia at a very high level. Hard to say it comes as a surprise... Lars Boven of Alpecin-Deceuninck and Adrien Petit of Intermarché - Wanty abandoned during the stage.

The day had two highlight crashes. The first was small and before TV broadcast, it featured Primoz Roglic who once again hit the deck but the small fall looked to have no consequences. The other was of Jayco AlUla's Chris Harper who crashed in the final hour of racing and suffered a few gashes around the left hand. Jan Maas and Javier Romo were also involved in the fall with Harper.

Stage 4

Today's time-trial didn't provide a lot of danger for the peloton, which managed to escape unhurt from the day. However one day did not start the stage, it was Chris Harper of Team Jayco AlUla who was suffering from the injuries suffered on the previous day.

Stage 5

A lot has happened on the fifth day of racing as a crash with 21 kilometers to go brought down dozens of riders in a wet descent, including Primoz Roglic and Remco Evenepoel just as it happened at Itzulia Basque Country. The race was neutralized due to the weather conditions and sheer amount of riders who were affected by the fall close to the finish. This also included Juan Ayuso who looked badly hurt, but all three continued the race seemingly without fractures. Team Visma | Lease a Bike were not so lucky, both Dylan van Baarle and Steven Kruijswijk were forced to abandon as a result of the crash.

Luke Durbridge was a DNS on the day whilst Milan Menten also abandoned the race, but it was not related to the mass crash. Whilst the race was neutralized and on paper riders who didn't reach the finish line may start tomorrow, it is also known that Axel Zingle of Cofidis was virtually taken out of the race.

The following riders are also known to have crashed:

Luca Vergallito (Alpecin-Deceuninck)
Hugo Toumire (Cofidis)
Neilson Powless (EF Edudcation-EasyPost)
Gregor Mülhberger (Movistar Team)
Magnus Cort Nielsen (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team)
Quentin Pacher (Groupama-FDJ)
Mikel Landa (Soudal - Quick-Step)
Oliver Naesen (Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale)
Santiago Umba (Astana Qazaqstan Team)
Michele Gazzoli (Astana Qazaqstan Team)
Romain Combaud (Team DSM-Firmenich)
Tim Wellens (UAE Team Emirates)
Nils Politt (UAE Team Emirates)
Bart Lemmen (Team Visma | Lease a Bike)
Jai Hindley (BORA - hansgrohe)
Axel Mariault (Cofidis)
Laurens Huys (Intermarché-Wanty)
Rémy Rochas (Groupama-FDJ)

Stage 6

The previous day caused immense damage in the peloton. EF Education-EasyPost had two abandons before the stage due to non-crash reasons in Lukas Nerurkar and Harry Sweeny. However six riders did succumb to injuries and also did not begin the day, most notably Juan Ayuso who was a contender for the overall win. Alongside them; Odd Christian Eiking, Kamil Gradek, Rainer Kepplinger, Jasha Sütterlin and Kobe Goossens.

Two more riders abandoned the stage after it's start, one of them being Lidl-Trek's Alex Kirsch and the other was Lotto Dstny's Andreas Kron, both due to the crash injuries as well.

Thibault Guernalec and Mason Hollyman crashed during today's stage as they were in the breakaway, but without big injuries.

Stage 7

A huge list of riders failed to finish the seventh stage of the race, the second day in the mountains and perhaps the toughest of all stages. The mass crash of stage 5 continued to be damaging to the race as several riders faced physical problems.

The following riders did not even start the stage:

Tao Geoghegan Hart
Anders Skaarseth
Clément Russo
Hugo Toumire
Logan Currie
Christoher Juul-Jensen
Blake Quick
Santiago Umba

In the meantime, 13 other riders started the difficult mountain stage, but for one reason or another did not manage to conclude it. They were:

Clément Berthet
Antoine Huby
Ilan van Wilder
Kenny Elissonde
Oliver Knight
Iván García Cortina
Iván Sosa
Emils Liepeins
Cristián Rodríguez
Neilson Powless
Anthon Charmig
Mason Hollyman
Filippo Conca

Stage 8

Six riders did not start the final stage of the race including Sepp Kuss, who had a very underwhelming week which is a cause for concern ahead of the Tour de France. Ryan Gibbons, Clément Champoussin, Tom Paquot, Harold Tejada and Mark Donovan also did not start the stage,

Pavel Sivakov, Toms Skujins, Idar Andersen, Antonio Pedrero, Florian Sénéchal, Vito Braet, Jensen Plowright, Ide Schelling and Tobias Ludvigsson abandoned during the final day of racing in the mountains.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments