Itzulia Basque Country: Primoz Roglic survives in yellow after tough crash; Quinten Hermans wins uphill sprint on stage 3

Itzulia Basque Country is a race that always offers tricky stages and the third day of racing was just that. A hilly day that ended with an uphill bunch sprint; Alpecin-Deceuninck's Quinten Hermans took an important victory as Primoz Roglic and Juan Ayuso crashed on the day.

The uphill start to the stage saw plenty riders trying to form a front group, but they ended up cancelling each other which was not ideal for their chances. It took a very long time for a breakaway to be formed, it was Tom Paquot, Alan Jousseame, James Foucé and Eric Fagundez who took the responsibility on the day.

However it was not a group that threatened the peloton, in a day where the profile favoured a breakaway. The last of the escapees, Paquot, was caught with 43 kilometers to go.

Soon after though another race began, as Primoz Roglic crashed with 38 kilometers to go. This was a very dangerous moment for the race leader who lost two minutes in the scene, as the team crew inspected him for a possible concussion.

At first signs were not good, but Roglic returned to the bike and with the help of some teammates regained position in the peloton. As there was no breakaway anymore and not too many intentions, the pace of the peloton was calm in the final climb and the sprinters were present to fight for the win.

Louis Meintjes attacked near the summit to capture KOM points. Afterwards, an intermediate sprint saw Remco Evenepoel, Isaac Del Toro and Jonas Vingegaard capturing seconds.

In the aftermath of the sprint three riders attacked with Gorka Izagirre, Nelson Oliveira and Marc Soler taking off with 8 kilometers to go. They were caught then with 3 kilometers to go, with a bunch sprint to take place. A crash inside the final kilometers saw Juan Ayuso fall, but be given the same time.

However in the final sprint, the uphill drag to the line proved once again very open, and it was in a tricky sprint that Quinten Hermans took his best career win. He outsprinted Edoardo Zambanini and Alex Aranburu to the line.

Results powered by

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments