POLL: Individual Performance of the Year - CyclingUpToDate End of Season Awards

The 2023 road season has reached its conclusion and we want to hear from you! What was the most impressive individual performance of 2023? Your opinion counts and every vote matters so cast your vote!

Firstly of course, the nominees.

Primoz Roglic (Giro d'Italia stage 20 individual time-trial)

Heading into the brutally steep climb up Monte Lussari on stage 20 of the Giro d'Italia, Primoz Roglic had a 26 second deficit to Geraint Thomas in the general classification. Putting in the ride of his though, not even a mechanical issue of the final slopes could half Roglic's momentum as the Slovenian took the stage win and with it the Maglia Rosa by just 14 seconds.

Jonas Vingegaard (Tour de France stage 16 individual time-trial)

Another epic performance from a Jumbo-Visma leader against the clock, for Jonas Vingegaard, not someone renowned as a specialist in the discipline his dominant performance on stage 16 of the Tour de France was something truly special. With the Dane in yet another nip-and-tuck battle for yellow with Tadej Pogacar, most so called experts actually expected Vingegaard to lose time on this day. Instead, he completely obliterated the field, Pogacar included to take a massive step towards his second successive Maillot Jaune.

Tadej Pogacar (Tour of Flanders)

Although he wasn't able to reclaim the Tour de France, Tadej Pogacar's performances in the Spring Classics more than made up for any disappointment. Again proving what a well rounded rider he is, the Slovenian fought off stiff competition from the likes of Mathieu van der Poel, Mads Pedersen and Wout van Aert, to launch a race-winning attack on the Oude Kwaremont at the Tour of Flanders, adding a third different monument win to his palmares.

Mathieu van der Poel (Glasgow World Championships men's elite road race)

Having already been crowned Cyclocross World Champion earlier in the year, Mathieu van der Poel added a second Rainbow Jersey to his 2023 in Glasgow. Similarly to the aforementioned Tour of Flanders, the leading figures were van der Poel, van Aert, Pogacar and Pedersen. This time though it would be the Dutchman who managed to time his late attack to perfection, even surviving a late crash to hold onto the win in dramatic style.

Mathieu van der Poel (Paris-Roubaix)

Another stunning performance by the Alpecin-Deceuninck superstar came on the cobbles of Paris-Roubaix. Alongside teammate Jasper Philipsen, the pair finished one-two in the quickest ever edition the race. Avoiding the punctures and managing to not get caught up in the many crashes, van der Poel took luck into his hands on the day, also adding a third different monument victory to his palmares.

Tom Pidcock (Strade Bianche)

Soaring to a brilliant solo success, Tom Pidcock's rather controversial choice to skip the defence of his Cyclocross World Championship title was vindicated in style at Strade Bianche. Attacking clear from a long way out, Pidcock simply could not be reeled back in as the INEOS Grenadiers rider took the biggest one-day win of his career to date.

Remco Evenepoel (Liege-Bastogne-Liege)

For the second straight year, Remco Evenepoel arrived solo to the finish line of Liege-Bastogne-Liege. Although the likes of Pidcock, Ben Healy and Santiago Buitrago had put up a brave fight, when Evenepoel launched his assault, the competition simply had no answer. Taking victory by over a minute, Evenepoel was dominant and looked on a different level to the rest of the field that day.

Jonas Vingegaard (Tour de France stage 5)

He may not have won the stage, or even taken a hold of the Maillot Jaune, but Jonas Vingegaard's performance on stage 5 of the 2023 Tour de France was the first sign of just how good a form the Dane was in this summer. Putting over a minute into Tadej Pogacar, Vingegaard laid down an early marker with a blistering attack and very nearly managed to reel in stage winner Jai Hindley from a seemingly impossible position.

So having seen the nominees, who do you think should win? Use the poll below to cast your vote!


Individual Performance of the Year

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments