REVEALED: How much Cyclocross' biggest stars earned this winter

The 2023/24 Cyclocross campaign has now reached its final conclusion, there are many successes and stories to look back on over the winter. Who though, was the biggest earner?

Whilst Mathieu van der Poel was the big winner in terms of races, taking away a grand total of 13 race wins, including a sixth Cyclocross World Championship, the Dutchman doesn't take top spot for biggest earner. With his proceeds of 54,200 euros in his 14 races according to HLN, the Alpecin-Deceuninck star comes in fifth on the earnings list.

Top of the pile with more money earned than all his rivals is Eli Iserbyt. Somewhat unsurprisingly given the fact that the Belgian raced 37 times over the campaign, performing impressively throughout. For Iserbyt a total of 125,320 euros was earned, some distance clear of second, third and fourth on the list, Lars Van der Haar, Joris Nieuwenhuis and Niels Vandeputte at 82,845 euros, 81,800 euros and 54,225 euros respectively.

Notably, both Wout van Aert and Tom Pidcock are absent from the top-10. Two of the more widely renowned cyclocross stars, the multi-discipline riders rode reduced calendars this winter, with targets elsewhere.

For the women, Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado's total of 105,290 euros was enough to claim top spot on the earners list. Fem van Empel (95,200), Lucinda Brand (76,770) and Puck Pieterse (60,590), following closely behind.

Prize Money Earned by Male Cyclocross Riders 2023/24

1. Eli Iserbyt 125,320 euros

2. Lars van der Haar (Ned) 82.845

3. Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned) 81,800

4. Niels Vandeputte 54,225

5. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) 54,200

6. Pim Ronhaar (Ned) 50,915

7. Michael Vanthourenhout 49,565

8. Laurens Sweeck 38,355

9. Toon Vandebosch 29,710

10. Thibau Nys 29.305

Prize Money Earned by Female Cyclocross Riders 2023/24

1. Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) 105,290 euros

2. Fem van Empel (Ned) 95,200

3. Lucinda Brand (Ned) 76,770

4. Puck Pieterse (Ned) 60,590

5. Annemarie Worst (Ned) 52,795

6. Inge van der Heijden (Ned) 42,315

7. Manon Bakker (Ned) 35,100

8. Leonie Bentveld (Ned) 34,750

9. Zoë Bäckstedt (GBr) 34,255

10. Laura Verdonschot 32,685

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments