Remco Evenepoel and Annemiek van Vleuten winners of 2022 Velo d'Or

29 cycling journalists have come together to vote for the male and female cyclists of the 2022 season in this year's edition of the Velo d'Or and the winners of the presitigous award have been chosen to be Remco Evenepoel and Annemiek van Vleuten:

Men's Velo d'Or results:
1. Remco Evenepoel 139 pts.
2. Wout van Aert 88 pts.
3. Tadej Pogacar 84 pts.
4. Jonas Vingegaard 80 pts.
5. Filippo Ganna 15 pts.
6. Fabio Jakobsen 7 pts.
7. Mathieu van der Poel 7 pts,
Harrie Lavreysen 7 pts.
9. Jay Hindley 6 pts.
10. Primoz Roglic 1 pt.
11. Geraint Thomas 1 pt.

In the men's field the majority have agreed the title was to be given to Remco Evenepoel, the new World Champion who has also won races such as the Vuelta a Espana, Liège-Bastogne-Liège and the Clasica San Sebastian. Wout van Aert and Tadej Pogacar have been voted second and third respectively after having very strong seasons. Jonas Vingegaard and surprisingly Filippo Ganna followed.

Women's Velo d'Or results:
1. Annemiek van Vleuten 145 pts.
2. Lotte Kopecky 69 pts.
3. Pauline Ferrand-Prévot 48 pts.
4. Elisa Longo Borghini 48 pts.
5. Lorena Wiebes 40 pts.
6. Marianne Vos 27 pt.
7. Marta Cavalli 22 pt.
8. Demi Vollering 21 pt.
9. Elisa Balsamo 7 pt.
10. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig 7 pt.
11. Silvia Persico 1 pt.

In the women's vote the overwhelming win was given to Annemiek van Vleuten without any surprise. After winning with a clear level above in the Tour de France Femmes return, but also the World Championships, Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana, there was little competition that anyone could give to the veteran. Lotte Kopecky and off-road rider Pauline Ferrand-Prévot were voted second and third.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments