Biniam Girmay, Louis Meintjes and Daryl Impey between contenders for African cyclist of the year

The list of candidates for African cyclist of 2022 has been revealed. The results will soon be announced before the end of the year, and a total of 19 riders have been selected as candidates to take the award such as Biniam Girmay, Louis Meintjes and Daryl Impey.

Girmay was the winner of Gent-Wevelgem this year alongside a stage at the Giro d'Italia where he was a headliner, specially due to his battle with Mathieu van der Poel. Louis Meintjes had his best career form to ride into 7th place at the Tour de France and 11th at the Vuelta a Espana where he also took a stage win. Inbetween the list of contenders also feature Tour de Suisse stage winner Daryl Impey, Natnael Tesfatsion who won the Tour du Rwanda and a stage at the Adriatica Ionica and Trek - Segafredo's Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier.

List of contenders for African cyclist of the year:
Gustav Basson – South Africa
Youssef Bdadou – Morocco
Welay Hagos Berhe – Ethiopia
Paul Daumont – Burkina Faso
Achraf Ed Doghmy – Morocco
Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier – Eritrea
Biniam Girmay – Eritrea
Yacine Hamza – Algeria
Daryl Impey – South Africa
Nasser Eddine Maatougui – Morocco
Abderrahmane Mansouri – Algeria
Islam Mansouri – Algeria
Louis Mentjes – South Africa
Moise Mugisha – Rwanda
Henok Mulubrhan – Eritrea
Artuce Tella – Cameroon
Natnael Tesfatsion – Eritrea
Souleymane Traore – Côte d'Ivoire
Dawit Yemane – Eritrea

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments