Rui Costa wins Trofeo Calvia

Rui Costa has won the Trofeo Calvia. He was the fastest in the final sprint and crossed the finish line ahead of his competitors.

The four riders, Pascal Eenkhoorn, Mirco Maestri, Matt Zimmer, and Ben Healy, formed a breakaway group and established a gap at the start of the race. Their lead grew to over 2 minutes.

As the race approached its final stretch of 40 kilometres, the gap between the breakaway group and the main peloton began to decrease. Only Eekhoorn and Healy were able to maintain their lead, but it had shrunk to just 50. Alaphilippe was leading the peloton in the pursuit.

The breakaway was finally caught well before the finish line. Louis Vervaeke attacked, but Rui Costa and Healy brought him back to the group. Rui Costawas the fastest to cross the finish line and took the top podium. Louis Vervaeke finished second. Ben Healy satisfied himself with bronze.

Results powered by

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments