Giro d'Italia stage 20 GC Update: Tadej Pogacar confirms victory as Daniel Martinez & Geraint Thomas complete podium

Although there was never any doubt, Tadej Pogacar dotted the i's and crossed the t's with another stunning performance on stage 20 of the 2024 Giro d'Italia, confirming his overall victory at the 107th Giro d'Italia in style.

Attacking the second time up the Monte Grappa, Pogacar left no scraps for his rivals as he blistered clear to a sixth stage win of this Grand Tour by over two minutes at the line. When the dust settled and the mathematics were worked out, Daniel Martinez, who secured himself 2nd place, just about managed to avoid the ten minute deficit, finishing the race 9:56 down in the general classification.

Despite not being at his best on the final climb, INEOS Grenadiers' Geraint Thomas managed his efforts well to finish alongside Martinez and confirm his second successive podium at the Giro, extending his own record for the eldest man ever to crack the top-3 in the long and storied history of the Giro d'Italia on the day of his 38th birthday.

Ben O'Connor continues in 4th, Antonio Tiberi 5th and despite losing time on the day, Thymen Arensman holds on to 6th overall. With Romain Bardet losing considerable time however, Einer Rubio rises to 7th, Jan Hirt moves up two spots to 8th before Bardet holds on to the top-10 in 9th with Michael Storer completing the top of the standings on Tudor Pro Cycling Team's Grand Tour debut.

Giro d'Italia stage 20 GC Update:

1 POGACAR Tadej UAE Team Emirates 76:22:13
2 MARTINEZ Daniel BORA-hansgrohe + 09:56
3 THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers + 10:24
4 O'CONNOR Ben Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team + 12:07
5 TIBERI Antonio Bahrain Victorious + 12:49
6 ARENSMAN Thymen INEOS Grenadiers + 14:31
7 RUBIO Einer Movistar Team + 15:52
8 HIRT Jan Soudal Quick-Step + 18:05
9 BARDET Romain Team dsm-firmenich PostNL + 20:32
10 STORER Michael Tudor Pro Cycling Team + 21:11
11 ZANA Filippo Team Jayco-AlUla + 23:59
12 FORTUNATO Lorenzo Astana Qazaqstan Team + 26:44
13 PIGANZOLI Davide Team Polti Kometa + 32:23
14 GESCHKE Simon Cofidis + 33:55
15 MAJKA Rafal UAE Team Emirates + 37:05
16 PARET-PEINTRE Valentin Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team + 43:26
17 CARUSO Damiano Bahrain Victorious + 48:16
18 COVILI Luca VF Group-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè + 51:08
19 QUINTANA Nairo Movistar Team + 54:37
20 POZZOVIVO Domenico VF Group-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè + 56:32
21 BAUDIN Alex Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team + 01:00:50
22 VALTER Attila Team Visma | Lease a Bike + 01:04:46
23 CONCI Nicola Alpecin-Deceuninck + 01:09:10
24 ALEOTTI Giovanni BORA-hansgrohe + 01:13:03
25 RIES Michel ARKEA-B&B HOTELS + 01:20:06
26 ZAMBANINI Edoardo Bahrain Victorious + 01:25:56
27 VELASCO Simone Astana Qazaqstan Team + 02:00:00
28 SANCHEZ Pelayo Movistar Team + 02:14:44
29 TONELLI Alessandro VF Group-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè + 02:17:48
30 PELLIZZARI Giulio VF Group-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè + 02:41:36

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments

Most read